Avondale Schools_USE THIS

Media Contact: Barbara Fornasiero, EAFocus Communications, cell: 586.817.8414, barbara@eafocus.com; Sue Briggs, Avondale Schools, 248.537.6041, susan.briggs@avondale.k12.mi.us

Auburn Hills, MI —Jan. 28, 2014— Avondale School District, an achievement-oriented learning community focused on student leadership and success in academics, the arts and athletics, announces the appointment of new officers on the Board of Education. The Board voted in the new officers for 2014 at its Jan. 21 meeting:

• Mr. Sean Johnson, president
• Mr. Scott Bittinger, vice president
• Mr. Ken Hedrick, secretary
• Mrs. Cynthia Tischer, treasurer

Sid Lockhart, Cyndi Pettit and Stephen Sucher will serve as trustees for 2014.

“We are extremely grateful for the hard work and dedication consistently shown by the Avondale Board of Education,” said Avondale Superintendent, George Heitsch, Ed.D. “They approach all of the issues placed before them by considering the best interests of the students first.”

About Avondale School District
Avondale School District is a collaborative community of teachers, staff and families working together to assure student success. The district, encompassing portions of Auburn Hills, Bloomfield Township, Troy and Rochester Hills, celebrates the richness of a diverse student population and strives to be a model school community that prepares students to be lifelong learners and contributing citizens to the world that awaits them upon graduation. Learn more about Avondale Schools, an AdvancED certified district, at www.avondale.k12.mi.us.